Kent & Queen Anne's Hospital
Recent News

January 22, 2002

FOR RELEASE: Immediately

Hospital Board Selects Charles MacLeod as Chairman

The Kent & Queen Anne's Hospital Board of Directors has elected Charles "Chip" MacLeod chairman and J. David Newell, Ph.D., vice-chairman. The board includes twelve volunteer community representatives and the presidents of the hospital's Medical Staff, Auxiliary and Foundation.

William R. Kirk, Jr., president & CEO of the Hospital, was elected president, Terry L. Weaver, vice president, finance, was elected treasurer and Robin E. Klinefelter, vice president, support & administrative services, was elected secretary.

MacLeod joined the hospital board in 1999 and has served on the finance and medical affairs committees. A resident of Worton, he is associated with Funk & Bolton, P.A., a law firm with offices in Chestertown. Prior to receiving his law degree, he worked as the administrator for Kent County government.
Newell, from Chestertown, a philosophy professor at Washington College who has extensive training in biomedical ethics, was elected to the board in 2000. In addition to working on the finance and medical affairs committees, he was chairman of the system integration committee. Before joining the board, he served as an advisor to the hospital, first to the nursing ethics committee and then to the patient care advisory committee. He has served as a board member of Kent Hospice Foundation, Kent Youth and as vice president of the Chestertown Rotary Club.

Charles "Chip" MacLeod was elected chairman and J. David Newell, Ph.D., vice- chairman of the Kent & Queen Anne's Hospital Board of Directors.