Kent & Queen Anne's Hospital
Recent News

April 25, 2002

FOR RELEASE: Immediately

Magnolia Hall Rehabilitation & Nursing Center
Selects David Bay as Chairman

David C. Bay was elected chairman of Magnolia Hall Rehabilitation & Nursing Center's board of directors and George E. Hardy, III, was elected vice-chairman at the board's annual meeting in March. The board includes eleven volunteer community representatives, a Kent County Commissioner representative and the facility's medical director.

Newly elected officers of Magnolia Hall Rehabilitation & Nursing Center are (left to right) George E. Hardy, III, vice-chairman; Jane K. Bristoll, secretary; David C. Bay, chairman and William B. Seitzer, treasurer. Magnolia Hall, which employs over 125 people, has been serving the community for 32 years. A board of directors composed of local citizens has always governed the Center, which joined the Chester River Health System in May 1999.

Bay was first elected to the Board in 1999 and has served for two years as vice-chairman. As board chairman, he will represent the nursing facility on the Chester River Health System's board of directors. He is a retired industrial engineer who worked in the food and pharmaceutical industries both domestically and internationally. The Chestertown resident has served as treasurer of Chesapeake Fields Institute, as a seminar leader for the Small Business Development Commission and as a volunteer counselor for S.C.O.R.E. (Service Corps of Retired Executives).

Hardy, a resident of Rock Hall, is a management consultant specializing in strategic planning. He has been a 20-year volunteer board member of the Keswick Multi-Care Center in Baltimore, a facility that offers long-term, assisted living and adult-day care services.

Also elected were Jane K. Bristoll, secretary, and William B. Seitzer, treasurer. Long-time Magnolia Hall supporter Bristoll is also associated in a volunteer capacity with Kent Hospice Foundation, Inc., Kent Youth, Inc., and the Humane Society of Kent County. Seitzer also works with Kent Hospice, Inc., St. Paul's Episcopal Church and serves as treasurer of the Humane Society of Kent County.

Other members of the board are past-chairman Theodore Chase, Catherine C. Baxter, Daniel A. Brandon, Charles A. Schelts, W. Jackson Stenger, Ph.D., Donald F. Wierda and Eugenia C. Wootton, Esq. Medical director Helen A. Noble, M.D., and Kent County Commissioner Representative, W. Michael Newnam, round out the board.