Chester River Hospital Center
Recent News


Hospital Medical Staff is Elected for 1999

Joseph B. Aquilla, M.D., has been elected by his colleagues to serve as president of Chester River Hospital Center’s Medical Staff. He is a graduate of the University of Maryland Medical School and received his residency training at the University of Maryland Hospital. He began his ophthalmology practice in Chestertown in 1975. As president of the medical staff, Aquilla will represent the medical staff as a voting member of the hospital’s Board of Directors.

medical_staff_leadership.jpg (17969 bytes)

President-elect of the medical staff is John C. Seymour, M.D. A graduate of George Washington University School of Medicine, he completed his residency at Washington Hospital Center and has practiced internal medicine in Chestertown since 1988.

Elected as Secretary/Treasurer is Anita R. Sgrignoli, M.D., a pathologist at Kent & Queen Anne’s Hospital. Prior to joining the Hospital in 1996, she completed a fellowship in cytopathology at the National Cancer Institute. She is a graduate of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and was the chief resident in pathology at Johns Hopkins Hospital.

The Medical Staff organization represents all doctors with privileges at the hospital in matters of clinical and administrative policy, quality assurance and strategic planning.